Skip to content

Life lessons & free advice

March 26, 2013

NewYear

Twelve weeks into the New Year and 4 out of 5 of you have already forsaken this year’s resolutions. I, myself, can hardly believe how quickly the years are going by. I swear I’ve barely had time to catch up.

2012 ended on a strange and anxious note and 2013 simply picked up where the previous year left off. Life’s version of beginnings and ends doesn’t always follow the Roman calendar. And try as you might it gets kind of tiring trying to squeeze everything into a pre-set mold. Whether it’s days, dates or occasions one is as good or bad as the next. Life doesn’t always pause to acknowledge the so-called significance of your special days and doesn’t always give birthdays, new years valentines and anniversaries their celebratory due.

I’ve had this list sitting in my vault for a while and it was meant to replace the usual list of bright and shiny resolutions. But given that it’s nearly the end of March, that’s neither here nor there.

thegathering

Just some of the things I thought about in 2012:

1. I’m thankful. Constantly.

My life is not anywhere near where I had thought I’d be at this point in my life.  But if there’s anything I’ve learnt in my twenties it’s that life is hard. And it tends to get harder. Most of the time its shitty, gritty and tricky-as-f*k to navigate, but that is exactly when you have to remind yourself that it-can-get-infinitely-worse. Each and every day I am grateful for the love that I have been blessed with in my life. Everything else is just a bonus.

2. I’m scared. Most of the time.

(Scared of life getting infinitely worse)

3. There are some things that need to be said.

I’m only going to get one shot at this so I need to make everyday count and put myself out there. I’ve always been liberal with my love yet sparing with my emotions.  So as uncomfortable as it makes me I need to force myself to reach out even if I’m feeling shut out – to end conversations with ‘Love you’, start emails with ‘I’ve missed you’ and say out loud ‘I’m here for you’. Because it’s true.

4. Its OK to just shut up.

This one is definitely new to me and quite honestly came as a bit of a shocker. I’ve always been one to speak my mind. If I had an opinion (and usually I did), you were going to hear it. Because truthfully speaking I never really felt like I had any other option – till now. Call it the wisdom of the ages or something to the effect, but I am slowly learning the power (and effectiveness) of silence.

5. Be kind – to others and yourself.

Loving people is easy. What’s not easy, is loving them they way they want or need to be loved. In order to be there for my friends, family and loved ones, I find myself sometimes struggling with the need to slant my thoughts, mince my words and fight all natural urges which tend to lean towards categorical truth-telling. As you can tell I’m still negotiating #4 with myself.

6. With every decade that passes I realize that there’s more and more I don’t know.

I still don’t know what I want to be when I grow up. I still don’t know who I want to be when I grow up. I always thought that things happened for a reason – that there was a method to this madness – I don’t know if I believe that anymore. Most days I feel like I’m too young to be this old. But then I question that as well.

7.  (You &) I should keep listening to songs like this one: 

 

 

No comments yet

Your words inspire me... so comment away! :)

