Skip to content

Missing out on Karachi in the winter

December 29, 2011

Its that time of year once again; wedding season in Pakistan. And I’m missing it. (Not that I’m missing it; if you know what I mean). For the first time in about 12 years I’m not in Karachi in December. Today is the first real day of snow in Toronto, and it feels strange gazing down at snow-covered roof tops and flurries lightly floating across the skies; an entire world away from my ‘usual decembers’.

I miss karachi. I miss the smell of winter in the air, getting together with old friends from different corners of the world, french beach, that 4 pm winter sunlight, the same bollywood hits at each and every mehndi, family time, bonfires at the beach, cold sand under my toes, star gazing, ruby red lips on a winter bride, dancing the nights away to those bollywood hits, paani puri, long drives down familiar streets, my red vitz, cuddling up under a cozy shawl with a cup of chai… the list does go on….

(Photo cred: mr. niel/nadir’s julie… or was it jenny)

5 Comments leave one →
  1. amina permalink
    December 29, 2011 8:02 pm

    aww wish you would have carried on!

  2. ally permalink
    December 30, 2011 1:03 am

    i miss karachi tooo!!!

  3. Shoaib permalink
    January 1, 2012 7:12 am

    The camera’s name is JENNY!! :s
    Miss you too! I leave for Karachi tomorrow night! Cant waitttt!

  4. Shoaib permalink
    January 1, 2012 7:14 am

    And we’ve had detailed discussions on this picture! The symmetry is a bit off… Its annoying me! Hmmf!

  5. ChiChi Jr. permalink
    January 2, 2012 2:32 am

    We missed you too Sam!!

Your words inspire me... so comment away! :)

