Skip to content

Make Love Not War {The Kissing Couple}

June 17, 2011

So the Vancouver Canucks hockey team lost the Stanley Cup, and the world  got to see what big sore losers Canadians can be: Really big!! 

The only upside to the entire thing has been this incredible photograph and the mystery behind it. I really don’t care if it’s staged or not …I can’t help but love this picture!

(Hmmm… I think I just added “use background rioting as a photo op” to my bucket list! the hubby will so not be pleased abt this one)

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2011 2:56 am

    I don’t wanna be the party pooper but one of my friends was at the game and we were all scared cause we didn’t hear from her till much later. She’s fine! :)

    I had posted the photo on my facebook profile and she left a comment that she later deleted, and posted a more elaborate comment that I want to share –

    “how the hell is this the greatest photo? it’s romanticizing one of the most disgusting acts towards the city since 1994. there were fires, stabbings, robbery, insane brutality –two KIDS making out in the middle of the street doesn’t capture shit. like Matthew Good wrote about the riots this morning, “if you give most of the idiots around here enough rope, they’ll hang themselves and think it cool.””

    Perspective, I suppose.

    • June 17, 2011 10:29 am

      I completly agree, in terms of the circumstance of the riot; its the most ridiculous situation I’ve ever heard of (esp for Canada). But I havn’t put up this photograph up to glorify or romaticize the riots. I mean people rioting and doing some serious damage to the city over hockey (or anything) definitely requires prespective.

      For me its purely about the photograph (despite the shitty circumstances) …it captures a unique moment and for me it almost evokes the phrase ‘make love not war’ – almost protesting the rioting itself.

      I dunno …maybe thats just me reading too much into the photograph. Or maybe being from Karachi its just nice to see a photograph of a riot that doesn’t show death and distruction. Like I said ….just cant help but love it :) … Hope your friend’s OK.

  2. June 17, 2011 10:46 pm

    I have to agree with you, sammi, I don’t think the point of the photograph is the romanticizing of the riots at all. In fact, like most people around the world, I was fascinated that such a moment of pure tenderness could be juxtaposed against such an ugly scene. No one will really ever know what happened that night, except these two, and maybe the beauty of the moment lies in that truth alone.

Your words inspire me... so comment away! :)

