Skip to content

The Reluctant Bride

May 7, 2010

I decided it was time to tell my best friend about my plans for life and world domination, starting specifically with this blog, of course. I thought I should gather up some support in my corner before venturing out on my own and all that.

Me: so listen I’ve decided to start a blog. I’m calling it Inspirational ‘Laddu’ and its going to be about (don’t you dare laugh): Weddings!

Best Friend: LOL. You and weddings???

Me: Hey. I said don’t laugh.

Ok so I’ll be the first to admit that I’m not your typical girly girl and I was definitely not your typical bridey bride (yes that’s a term). In fact, I was quite the reluctant bride, if you will. I didn’t have the top bridal designers on my speed dial, I didn’t know which makeup artist could tame my ruley eyebrows into perfect submission, nor did I know my karats from my carrots. Till the time came, I had never really pictured my (perfect) wedding. And the thought of marriage freaked me out. All of it just made me kind of uncomfortable. The planning; the stress; all the people involved; the drama; and all that attention: on me. It all really just made me very uncomfortable. All I was interested in was getting from point A to point B as fast as possible (without getting caught in any nasty crossfire). I wanted it quick and painless. Or if the  crossfire was unavoidable (as it is usually) my plan of action was to quietly tuck, duck n’ and roll. Tuck, duck and roll soldier!

That being said, I guess I should confess that I was surrounded by pros. My wedding was the first wedding in my household and my own mother being a stickler for perfection had it all under control. And on the other side my hubby’s siblings were already married and so the in-laws were pretty well-equipped too, with great taste to boot. So I’ll admit it, my non-involvement wouldn’t have been a tragedy.

I could afford to take on the role of the reluctant bride.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 21, 2010 7:23 pm

    I think this is really great

  2. May 21, 2010 7:24 pm

    Keep me updated

Trackbacks

  1. Birthdays: Nature’s Way of Telling Us to Eat More Cake « Inspirational Laddu

Your words inspire me... so comment away! :)

